HandiMom

May 13th, 2014:

The aluminum flex hose came off of the dryer vent.  I mentioned it a few times to my husband over the next several months, but just a few times (less than 3) so I wouldn’t be accused of nagging.
Today I decided to get my happy self in the utility room and Fix It Myself!  And Lo…the aluminum sleeve had been slipped back on the the vent!  Must have happened sometime between February 27th of 2011 and and May 12th of 2014.  Whatever, it was a miracle.  However, he didn’t secure it with anything so it was just a matter of time before it slipped back off.

Enter Magic Mom.  My husband would tell you it only takes a few seconds to fix a dryer vent.  It took me two and a half hours.

First, of course, I had to clear a path. As I moved stuff around to get to the vent I dragged my shop vac along as my side kick. Move something, vacuum. Move something, vacuum.  Shop vacced all the dog food and dirt and lint off the floor. Then I crawled around the baseboards vacuuming. I especially vacuumed around the vent, where the lint was two inches thick, and I vacuumed the vent too.
Then, lint being what it is, I started from the ground up and vacuumed the walls, the ceiling, and continued around the room, vacuuming everything in sight.  I vacuumed the the 5′ metal tool box, the 6′ metal cabinet, the washer, the dryer and the bowling balls, the pressure washer, the sewing machine, the cooler, the large bag of dog food and don’t forget the window sill. I vacuumed everything I could reach. The dog wandered in. She got vacuumed. The dog ran out. Then I mopped the floors on my hands and knees.
Now that everything was shiny and clean,  I was ready to fix the vent. I used duct tape, of course, to secure it.

ImageMy husband was right. It does take only a few seconds to fix the dryer vent.

 

2 thoughts on “HandiMom

Leave a Reply

